1965 Volkswagen Beetle - Rabbit20v

Discussion in 'Car Journals/Projects' started by rabbit20v, Jul 9, 2015.

1. rabbit20v

rabbit20v BRIDGE!

Well as some of you know, I've been itching for a few years to get an air-cooled.
    Also Claire has been wanting a classic car of her own, even though she's more into American classics, I somehow talked her into look into air-cooled VW as it was the prefect compromise for the two of us.
    She really likes the styling of the Karmann Ghia, but they are very hard to find not rotted out.
    Plus the Ghia body is almost all one piece, so it's not like you can bolt better parts on. Everything has to welded.
    I swayed her back into looking at Beetles as they are much easier to find either not rotted or already repaired.
    I knew that we weren't looking for one in perfect shape, in fact we wanted one that needed some work so we could make a small project of it and put our own personal touch.

After backing out of buying a '66 that had too many unknown issues, I found this '65 for sale in Rochester on the Samba.
    Claire and I headed out one rainy Saturday afternoon to take a look.
    The owner was super nice and very upfront about everything.
    I was impressed at how clean it was underneath and how solid everything was.
    After going back the next day to look over it and take a test drive, we bought it.

[​IMG]WVW_7980 by Steve, on Flickr

[​IMG]WVW_7982 by Steve, on Flickr

[​IMG]WVW_7985 by Steve, on Flickr

[​IMG]WVW_7990 by Steve, on Flickr

[​IMG]WVW_8008 by Steve, on Flickr

Minglor and Unit91MS like this.
  2. lorge1989

lorge1989 Posting- God

i know almost nothing about these, but it seems to me you got a good one! Excited to see what the future brings for it!

3. rabbit20v

rabbit20v BRIDGE!

The good:
    - Car was originally from Cali and brought to Philly and then to Rochester. PO never drove it in rain and always kept in a heated/dry garage.