Hello all! Newbie to your forum here, thanks for having me! i have a 03 gti 1.8T

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by 03gtiguy, Aug 12, 2017 at 10:41 AM.

1. 03gtiguy

03gtiguy New Member

I've had my baby for about a year now and so far ive gotten dual core smic, Apr r1 dv, 3` downpipe (ebay), injection cold air, greddy stage 2 exhaust, just have the custom tune in it and am looking for a little insight, I've been a mechanic for years but have only been working with turbos for 2 years now. I'm pushing about 25 psi with stock ko3s and she is loving it but I blew my cat and my first instinct is to just cut it and straight it, will my turbo stay happy? Also new to tuning so trying to get a grasp on it, Any opinions or wisdom would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks all!

2. rabbit20v

rabbit20v BRIDGE!

Getting a car with no cat is getting harder and harder to pass NYSI.
    While there is software available to ignore the rear O2 sensor readings, the NYSI sees that readiness is not set.
    You are only allowed 2 readiness parameters to not be set in order to pass.
    Sometimes you can get away with just using a rear O2 spacer. This way the O2 is still working, just pulled out of the exhaust system enough for it not to sense there is no cat.

3. skwerl43

skwerl43 Member

You also seem to forget there is a visual inspection. If you have been a mechanic for 25 years you should know that. Also.if you've been a mechanic for 25 years you should know how o2 sensors and the system works. It works the same whether turbo, supercharged, nitrous, or n/a. Not easy to fool unless it's early one also the amount of readiness monitors depends on the year Of the vehicle. Doesn't matter what's ready or not. Sounds like you might be in over your head if you don't know these very basic things. Cutting a cat out of a turbo car will help if it is designed right but if you get caught you are screwed. You have been warned and putting it up on a forum.....not a bright idea.......